USAC: Hoffman Family Tabs Boespflug For 2017 Sprint Car Campaign

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Sprints & Midgets, USAC 1 Comment

Chad Boespflug will drive for the legendary Hoffman Auto Racing team in 2017, taking over from Brady Bacon. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

Chad Boespflug will drive for the legendary Hoffman Auto Racing team in 2017, taking over from Brady Bacon. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

LOVELAND, Ohio — After a banner season that saw Brady Bacon collect the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series championship for Hoffman Auto Racing, the storied team will have a new driver for 2017.

Rising star Chad Boespflug will join the team to drive the famed No. 69 Mean Green Cleaner & Degreaser entry in next year’s USAC National Sprint Car Championship, with Bacon leaving the team due to increased commitments to his winged sprint car program and conflicts with other planned racing events.

In addition, the team will undergo a restructuring of personnel, with Rob Hoffman retiring and Dan Launderville devoting his time to other business going forward.

On the flip side, the team’s longtime sponsor — Mean Green Cleaner & Degreaser — will return with the Hoffman family sprint car racing business next season, as will crew member Tim Waechter.

Davey Jones will join the team as crew chief in 2017, and the team will be headquarted out of Indianapolis rather than their traditional home in Loveland, Ohio.

“The loss of Dan, Rob and Brady necessitated a restructuring of the team,” Richard Hoffman said. “I want to wish Dan, Brady, and my son, Rob, the best. We had one heck of a team, as evidenced by results. Without the backing of Mean Green, Lykins, XYZ, Hoosier Tire, and now EZR, it would have been difficult to continue.”

“We are excited to carry on our legacy with Chad,” Hoffman added. “He will drive the 69 car. Chad’s career is taking off and with the addition of Davey Jones as the crew chief, that makes us a threat every night, and for our 12th USAC National Sprint Car Championship.”

Boespflug takes over for Bacon, who was unable to commit to a full USAC schedule due to his growing commitments outside of the United States Auto Club title trail.

“I am looking forward to working with Dynamics Inc. Hoffman Racing,” Boespflug said. “With the help of EZR we will be chasing another championship in 2017. It’s a tall feat to follow in the footsteps of their accomplishments over the years, but also a huge honor to help carry on the Hoffman Racing legacy of excellence and championship. They have truly helped evolve the sport of racing.”

Hoffman Auto Racing won their 11th USAC National Sprint Car championship in 2016, in addition to capturing the Indiana Sprint Week crown, taking their first Little 500 victory with Kody Swanson and reaching their milestone 100th USAC National Sprint Car victory.

Boespflug began racing micros in 1998 in his home state of California. He graduated to sprint cars in 2004 and won the SCRA championship in 2005 before making the big move to Indiana in 2007.

Boespflug won the Lawrenceburg track championship in 2011 and racked up six USAC National wins in 2016, including a sweep of two non-points events at Badlands Motor Speedway that netted a $60,000 total payday, the largest of his career.

Boespflug becomes the latest in a long line of names to drive for the Hoffman family, including NASCAR stars Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart, J.J. Yeley, Kasey Kahne and Ryan Newman; late drivers Kenny Irwin Jr. and Rich Vogler; and USAC Triple Crown champion Tracy Hines. 

CREDIT: Hoffman Auto Racing

Comments 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *