POWRi: Logan Seavey Breaks Through In Illinois SPEED Week Finale

RaceChaser Staff Featured, POWRi 0 Comments

Logan Seavey celebrates in victory lane with his team after winning Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway. (Brendon Bauman photo)

LINCOLN, Ill. — Logan Seavey scored his first POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League victory Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway, during the fifth and final night of Illinois SPEED Week.

Coming from 12th in his No. 4a midget, Seavey carefully crept his way towards the front, finding himself inside the top three just past the halfway point of Sunday night’s feature.

But it was when Seavey was giving chase to race leader Michael Pickens in the closing stages that chaos ensued.

Seavey made his move entering turn three for the final lap. Diving towards the bottom of the race track, Seavey put a slide job into motion. Making contact atop turn four, the slide job resulted in Pickens going upside down and the red flag being displayed instead of the checkered.

When the field refired, Seavey led the way to the checkered for the final lap, followed to the line by Shane Golobic and Zach Daum.

“I don’t know what to say,” said Seavey.  “I wore out Michael Pickens. He probably should have won the race. Not a good move on my part. Sorry to him. He outran me in lapped traffic. I thought I was a little better in open air, but he just got through lapped traffic better. I got close enough and thought I could clear him, but wrecked him instead. I’m sorry about that.”

Tyler Thomas and Tucker Klaasmeyer rounded out the top five.

Despite his 16th-place finish, Pickens earned the overall POWRi Illinois SPEED Week championship, taking the title on a wins tiebreaker with Daum after both drivers finished the week at 1,320 points.

Pickens’ two wins during the five-race stretch made the difference, pushing him over the top.

Nick Howard claimed the 600cc micro sprint feature over Nathan Benson and Gedd Ross won the D-II midget main event.


RESULTS: POWRi Illinois SPEED Week Finale; Lincoln Speedway; June 4, 2017

A-Main (30 laps): 1. 4A – Logan Seavey; 2. 17W – Shane Golobic; 3. 5D – Zach Daum; 4. 91T – Tyler Thomas; 5. 27 – Tucker Klaasmeyer; 6. O5 – Brad Loyet; 7. 8GQ – Jimi Quin; 8. 39 – Zeb Wise; 9. 3N – Jake Neuman; 10. 22 – Andy Malpocker; 11. 6A – Aidan Roosevans; 12. 37 – Andrew Felker; 13. 28 – Ace McCarthy; 14. 7ME – Chance Morton; 15. 8M – Kade Morton; 16. 1NZ – Michael Pickens; 17. 3B – Shelby Bosie; 18. 4D – Robert Dalby; 19. 87 – Dalton Camfield; 20. 97 – Austin Odell; 21. 37X – Jake Blackhurst; 22. 7 – Austin Brown; 23. 20 – Cody Weisensel; 24. 77 – David Camfield Jr.; 25. 17C – Devon Camfield.

CREDIT: POWRi Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *