Larson Wins Again In New Zealand Midget Go

Jacob Seelman Featured, Other Midgets 0 Comments

Kyle Larson (back left) celebrates winning on Wednesday at Western Springs Speedway. (Jeremy Ward/ photo)

AUCKLAND, New Zealand — Kyle Larson pulled off another win on Wednesday night in New Zealand, topping the United Truck Parts World 50 for midget cars at Auckland’s Western Springs Speedway.

Wendesday’s triumph marked Larson’s second victory in five starts during a scheduled six-race tour of Kiwi country.

Two of the six-pack of starts were rained out and Larson spun in another after a three-wide battle with American Tyler Courtney and native star Michael Pickens at Baypark Family Speedway on Dec. 28.

His earlier win also came at Western Springs, during a 30-lap feature on Dec. 30.

“Picked up the 50-lap win tonight,” Larson said on Twitter after his victory. “Glad we got it in before the rain came.”

After falling from fifth on the grid to the tail of the field due to issues on the opening lap, reigning USAC National Midget Series champion Spencer Bayston rallied back to post a runner-up result, coming in 1.4 seconds adrift of Larson at the twin checkers.

Bayston also finished second to Larson in the 30-lapper on Dec. 30.

Shayne Alach completed the podium finishers in third, followed by Americans Tyler Thomas and Zach Daum.

Larson’s final scheduled New Zealand start will come on Friday night at Western Springs, before he returns to the United States to take part in the 32nd annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals, Jan. 9-13 at Oklahoma’s Tulsa Expo Raceway.

The Chip Ganassi Racing NASCAR Cup Series driver is the defending winner of the Chili Bowl’s Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports. He has never won the 55-lap championship A-Main.


RESULTS: United Truck Parts World 50; Western Springs Speedway; Jan. 3, 2018

International Midgets A-Feature (50 laps): 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Spencer Bayston, 3. Shayne Alach, 4. Tyler Thomas, 5. Zach Daum, 6. Peter Hunnibell, 7. Brad Mosen, 8. James Cossey, 9. Michael Stewart, 10. Duane Hickman, 11. Jeremy Webb, 12. Kaidon Brown, 13. Ricy McGough, 14. Brock Maskovich, 15. Michael Pickens, 16. Tyler Courtney, 17. Hayden Williams, 18. Alex Bright, 19. Hayden Guptil, 20. Breyton Davison, 21. Thomas McLean, 22. Dayne Kingshott, 23. Chris McCutcheon, 24. Stevie Walsh.


About the Writer

Jacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 23-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at:

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *