It’s Christopher Bell Again In Chili Bowl Finale

Jacob Seelman Featured, Indoor Racing, Other Midgets 0 Comments

Christopher Bell won Saturday night’s Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals championship finale. (TeeJay Crawford photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Christopher Bell took advantage of Kyle Larson’s misfortune to become a two-time Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals champion on Saturday night at the Tulsa Expo Center.

Bell took the lead when Larson’s motor went sour on lap 42 of the 55-lap finale event and cruised the rest of the distance, beating Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports teammate and two-time Chili Bowl winner Rico Abreu to the checkered flag by 3.162 seconds.

“Man, to win the Chili Bowl last year is something I’ll never forget, but to win it back-to-back is something I’m just speechless for,” said Bell in victory lane. “I’m really bummed about Kyle, though. … I really wanted to race this one out.”

Abreu crossed the line in second, with Spencer Bayston completing the podium to give Kunz the top three finishing positions.

Tanner Thorson rolled from 17th to finish fourth, while Ryan Bernal garnered hard charger honors with an unbelievable drive from 23rd to round out the top five finishers.

Brad Sweet was sixth, ahead of Justin Grant, Chase Johnson, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Chad Boat.

This story will be updated…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *