ARCA: Clean Sweep; Cindric Finds Track-Record Speed in Final Practice

Kyle Magda ARCA, Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

LONG POND, Pa. — Report by Race Chaser Online Northeast Correspondent Kyle Magda — ARCA photo —

The No. 99 PIRTEK Ford was scary fast at Pocono Raceway on Thursday, scary fast enough that Austin Cindric ran quicker than Brennan Poole’s ARCA track-record of 51.857 seconds (173.554 mph) during the final practice session for the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards.

Cindric set the fastest lap of the week at 51.848 seconds (173.584 mph) and  quickest time in the series since Pocono’s repave in 2012. The 17-year-old was over a second faster than Dalton Sargeant (170.152 mph) in second. Both Cindric and Sargeant were the only two drivers to break into the 170 mph range.

Another driver tackling the Tricky Triangle for the first time is NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver William Byron. The 18-year-old driver slotted in third (169.911 mph) and second-quick among the Venturini Motorsports Toyotas.

Toledo winner Myatt Snider (169.872 mph) was fourth, followed by Ranier Racing with MDM driver Kyle Benjamin (169.821 mph) in fifth. In both practices, composite-bodied cars swept the top-five.

Noah Gragson (169.731 mph) led the steel-bodied bunch in sixth as points leader Chase Briscoe still looks for his first series win while posting the seventh-fastest time of the session at 53.303 seconds (168.84 mph).

Brandon Jones (168.821 mph) was eighth in car No. 8 with John Wes Townley (167.986 mph) and Justin Haley (166.991 mph) completed the top-10. Townley bounced back after wrecking his primary car in first practice.

32 cars took time during the session as the stars and cars of the ARCA Racing Series presented take to the track next for Menards Pole Qualifying at 1:45 p.m. ET on Friday.


RESULTS: ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards; Final Practice;  Pocono Raceway; June 2, 2016

  1. Austin Cindric
  2. Dalton Sargeant
  3. William Byron
  4. Myatt Snider
  5. Kyle Benjamin
  6. Noah Gragson
  7. Chase Briscoe
  8. Brandon Jones
  9. John Wes Townley
  10. Justin Haley
  11. Kyle Weatherman
  12. Will Kimmel
  13. Grant Enfinger
  14. Matt Kurzejewski
  15. Brady Boswell
  16. Tom Hessert
  17. Shane Lee
  18. Bo LeMastus
  19. Josh Williams
  20. Bobby Gerhart
  21. Tom Berte
  22. Steve Fox
  23. Ed Pompa
  24. Thomas Praytor
  25. George Cushman
  26. Dustin Knowles
  27. Ray Ciccarelli
  28. Chris Bailey Jr.
  29. Brad Smith
  30. JJ Pack
  31. Mike Basham
  32. Wayne Peterson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *