NNS: Who Will Be The Next First-Time Winner In Nationwide?

RaceChaser Staff NASCAR 0 Comments

April 25, 2014 — official release — NASCAR photo — RICHMOND, VA — Kyle Larson did it first. Chase Elliott did it next – only to do it again the following week.

When Larson crossed the finish line first at Auto Club Speedway, he became the season’s first first-time winner to win in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. One race later, Chase Elliott notched his first career series win by outlasting the field at Texas, and then he won again – this time at Darlington in the series’ most recent race.

With the recent run on first-time winners, it begs the question as to who will be the next first timer in the series … and could that person do so at Richmond?

Possible candidates include Ty Dillon, Brian Scott, Brendan Gaughan, Dylan Kwasniewski and Ryan Reed, who are all in the top 10 in the points standings.

Dillon has come closest to winning through the first seven races of the season, having compiled six top 10s with a low showing of 11th. His highest finish was sixth in Bristol. In two Richmond races, his best result was seventh in the fall 2012 event.

Scott, Gaughan and Reed each have one top-10 finish in limited experience at Richmond. Scott finished second in the fall 2013 race, the same race in which Reed finished ninth. Gaughan’s best showing there was a ninth in the spring 2009 event. Kwasniewski has never made a series start at the short track.

So who will be next? Find out tonight as the NASCAR Nationwide Series takes the green flag for the ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond International Raceway live at 7:00 PM Eastern on ESPNews and the Motor Racing Network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *