NCWTS: Flying Lap; Ty Dillon Claims Truck Pole at Daytona in First Start for GMS Racing

RaceChaser Staff NASCAR 0 Comments

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – official series release – Jared Tilton/Getty Images North America photo –

Ty Dillon won the Keystone Light Pole Qualifying Award for Friday night’s Camping World Truck Series season-opening race: the NextEra Energy Resources 250 (7:30 p.m. ET, FOX) at Daytona International Speedway.

This is the Richard Childress Racing driver’s fifth pole award of his Truck Series career.

Lining up next to Dillon on the front row will be Travis Kvapil.

Tyler Reddick, Austin Theriault and James Buescher round out the top-five starting lineup.

There was a red flag brought out when Norm Benning and Timothy Peters wrecked in Turn 2 during the third group of Round 1.

This marked the first qualifying session since NASCAR announced an update to qualifying procedure on Wednesday, breaking the field into smaller groups for shorter runs.

Mason Mingus, Cody Ware, Justin Jennings, Clay Greenfield and Jordan Anderson failed to qualify. 

Watch as the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series opens its season with the NextEra Energy Resources 250 at 7:30 p.m. ET with TV coverage on FOX Sports 1.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *