NKNPS: How Sweep It Is; McReynolds Becomes First-Ever K&N Driver to Double Up in Iowa

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Plains, Touring Series 0 Comments

NEWTON, Iowa — official series release by James Hallas, NASCAR — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

If it were up to Brandon McReynolds, every race would take place in Iowa.

The No. 16 NAPA Auto Parts Toyota driver won the #ThanksKenny150 at Iowa Speedway, following up his May victory at the .875-mile track, to complete the season sweep and earn Bill McAnally Racing its 60th win in its 25th season.

Iowa Speedway has hosted 13 NASCAR K&N Pro Series combination race since 2007, and McReynolds became its first repeat winner. Past winners at Iowa include Joey Logano, Chase Elliott and Cole Custer.

McReynolds dominated the race, leading 127 of 150 laps from the Coors Light Pole. He had a scare on Lap 146 when Jesse Little pulled ahead of him on a restart. Unfazed, McReynolds caught up to Little, cleared him and sped away for the checkered flag.

Little finished second and was credited with a victory as the highest finishing NASCAR K&N Pro Series East driver. Spencer Davis, Rico Abreu and Noah Gragson completed the top five.

James Bickford, JJ Haley, Scott Heckert, Collin Cabre and Alex Schutte rounded out the top 10.

Gragson holds a two-point lead over Chris Eggleston in the K&N Pro West championship standings and nine point advantage over Gracin Raz. Ryan Partridge is just a point behind Raz. McReynolds, who has two wins and five top 10s in eight starts, is eighth — 35 points out of the lead.

William Byron, who finished 19th overall, maintained his K&N Pro East championship points lead of 25 over Heckert and 33 over Hill.

The #ThanksKenny150 will be televised by NBCSN on Thursday, Aug. 6 at 7 p.m. ET.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East returns to action on Aug. 7 at Watkins Glen (New York) International, while the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West races next on Aug. 15 at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Washington.


RESULTS: NASCAR K&N Pro Series; #ThanksKenny150; Iowa Speedway; July 31, 2015

  1. Brandon McReynolds (West and overall winner)
  2. Jesse Little (East winner)
  3. Spencer Davis
  4. Rico Abreu
  5. Noah Gragson
  6. James Bickford
  7. J.J. Haley
  8. Scott Heckert
  9. Collin Cabre
  10. Alex Schutte
  11. Kaz Grala
  12. Jay Beasley
  13. Dalton Sargeant
  14. Kyle Benjamin
  15. Dillon Bassett
  16. Chris Eggleston
  17. David Garbo Jr.
  18. Ryan Partridge
  19. William Byron
  20. Trey Hutchens III
  21. Nicole Behar
  22. Johnny White
  23. Gracin Raz
  24. Travis Miller
  25. Nick Drake
  26. Austin Hill
  27. Chad Finchum
  28. Matt Levin
  29. Dylan Caldwell
  30. Christian Celaya
  31. Devon Amos
  32. Rich DeLong III
  33. Mike Senica
  34. Kenzie Ruston
  35. Ron Norman
  36. John Wood
  37. Ronnie Bassett Jr.
  38. David Mayhew


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *