NCWTS: Mother Nature Steals Show; Qualifying Canceled at Gateway

Kyle Magda Featured, Midwest, NASCAR 0 Comments

MADISON, Ill. — Report by Race Chaser Online Associate Editor Kyle Magda — Sean Gardner/Getty Images North America photo —

A brief shower popped up at Gateway Motorsports Park after the first few trucks rolled off for qualifying.

12 trucks took time, but the precipitation was just enough for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series officials to cancel qualifying and set the field by the rule book. Erik Jones had the quickest time out of the handful of trucks who made it on the racetrack, with Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Justin Boston in second.

Since all 32 trucks didn’t make it on track for the first round of the qualifying session, the line-up is based off of speeds from Saturday morning’s lone practice session. Jones turned the fastest speed at 136.766 mph and will start on pole for Saturday night’s Drivin’ for Linemen 200. 2014 Gateway pole-sitter Cole Custer starts alongside the 19-year-old driver, as the average age of the front row is 18.

Last week’s winner Matt Crafton rolls off in third and ThorSport Racing teammate Johnny Sauter joins him in row two in fourth. Sauter finished runner-up in 2009 at Gateway to Mike Skinner.

Another Jones is in the top-five, with Brandon sitting in fifth in his No. 33 GMS Racing Chevrolet. Tyler Reddick, Daniel Hemric, Matt Tifft, Cameron Hayley and Austin Theriault round out the top-10 in the starting grid.

Other notables in the lineup: John Wes Townley and John Hunter Nemechek share row six. Townley recorded a career-best finish of third last weekend at Texas, while Nemechek will be in the No. 8 truck for the remainder of the season and turned 18-years-old on June 11.

Justin Boston is the only KBM driver not starting inside the top-10. Boston rolls off from 19th in the No. 54 Toyota. Team owner Kyle Busch had celebrated a victory Saturday in his NXS return at Michigan International Speedway. Busch’s truck team has no wins on the 2015 Truck Series Season.

There was one incident during the abbrievated qualifying session. Korbin Forrister made contact with the wall, suffering rear-end damage to the back of his No. 08 truck.

The green flag for the Drivin’ for Linemen 200 drops shortly after 8:30 p.m. ET and will be shown live on FOX Sports 1.

RESULTS: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series; Coors Light Pole Qualifying; Gateway Motorsports Park; June 13, 2015

1. Erik Jones

2. Cole Custer

3. Matt Crafton

4. Johnny Sauter

5. Brandon Jones

6. Tyler Reddick

7. Daniel Hemric

8. Matt Tifft

9. Cameron Hayley

10. Austin Theriault

11. John Wes Townley

12. John Hunter Nemechek

13. Timothy Peters

14. Spencer Gallagher

15. Ben Kennedy

16. Mason Mingus

17. Tyler Young

18. Ray Black Jr.

19. Justin Boston

20. Travis Kvapil

21. Tyler Tanner

22. Justin Jennings

23. Timmy Hill

24. Korbin Forrister

25. Jennifer Jo Cobb

26. Tommy Regan

27. Jordan Anderson

28. Ryan Ellis

29. Norm Benning

30. Adam Edwards

31. Michael Affarano

32. Joey Gattina


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *