GRC: Wiman Wins the Battle, Speed Wins the War During Global Rallycross Finale in Las Vegas

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Global Rallycross, Rally Cars, West 0 Comments

LAS VEGAS – official series release — Red Bull photo —

Joni Wiman took his first Red Bull Global Rallycross Supercar main event victory while Scott Speed clinched his first series championship on Wednesday night during the season finale on the Las Vegas Strip.

Wiman’s Red Bull Olsbergs MSE teammate Sebastian Eriksson earned second place, while Speed placed third to complete the podium.

Joni Wiman on the way to victory in Las Vegas. (Louis Yio/GRC photo)

Joni Wiman on the way to victory in Las Vegas.
(Louis Yio/GRC photo)

“I feel great,” said Wiman, who won the Red Bull Global Rallycross championship last year despite not winning a feature. “I’ve been waiting for this for almost 20 races. It’s unbelievable — I had a completely clean race with almost no mistakes, and that’s how you win races.”

Inclement weather caused the event to take place on a wet track, with drivers forced to run wet Yokohama tires for the single-day event. Steve Arpin won the pole in qualifying, but Wiman took the semifinal victory to earn lane choice for the 10-lap main event.

Speed, who won the second semifinal, grabbed the lead at the start of the 10-lap main event, but Wiman muscled by him during contact between multiple cars that left fellow championship hopeful Tanner Foust’s car damaged and unable to mount a successful run for the title. Wiman would never relinquish the lead, while Speed maintained the third spot to earn the championship over Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross teammate Foust, who finished ninth and off of the lead lap.

“What a great way to win here, with all the climate issues and all the drama,” Speed said. “It really feels great for the team because we came from so far back in points. I’m super happy for Volkswagen Andretti to bring home this championship.”

In GRC Lites, Oliver Eriksson earned the championship for OMSE as Alex Keyes stormed to his third victory of the season. The championship battle between Austin Cindric and Eriksson came to an end on the first lap of the final when an incident in the dirt ended Cindric’s day.

CREDIT: Red Bull Global Rallycross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *