ARCA: First Time for Everything; Coughlin Earns Talladega Pole

RaceChaser Staff ARCA, Featured, Southeast 0 Comments

TALLADEGA, Ala. — official series release — ARCA photo —

Cody Coughlin won his first Menards Pole Award presented by Ansell today, grabbing the pole for tonight’s International Motorsports Hall of Fame 200 at Talladega Superspeedway.

Coughlin, in the No. 55 JEGS Toyota, won the pole with a speed of 187.883 mph during group qualifying Friday. He beat out Cunningham Motorsports teammates Tom Hessert, in the No. 77 Barbera’s Autoland Dodge, and Blake Jones, in the No. 22 Uncle Ray’s Potato Chips-Carolina Nut Dodge.

“This is our first pole out here and we are excited about it,” Coughlin said. “We’re due for a win now.”

Austin Wayne Self qualified fourth in the AM Technical Solutions-Pirate Energy Ford with Will Kimmel fifth in the Eddie Gilstrap Motors Ford.

Starting lineup

Hessert won the Talladega race in 2014. Other former winners in tonight’s field will be Frank Kimmel, starting seventh in the 101 Ranch Records-Menards Toyota, and Bobby Gerhart in the No. 5 Lucas Oil-MAVTV America Real Chevrolet. ARCA Racing Series point leader Grant Enfinger will start 10th.

The International Motorsports Hall of Fame 200 is at 6 p.m. ET and will be live on Fox Sports 1.

Coughlin became the fifth Venturini Motorsports driver to win the pole at Talladega, the last being Milka Duno in 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *