ARCA: 2015 Champ Enfinger Leads Series with Six Victories

RaceChaser Staff ARCA, Featured, Midwest 0 Comments

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — official series release — ARCA photo —

Heading into the final ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards event of 2015, there were some point battles and series awards still up for grabs.

The SCOTT Rookie Challenge standings and Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge point titles, for example, were decided on the track with drivers passing each other and every position counting.

There was one award, however, that had been decided several races ago – the Hoosier Tire Most Victories award. Grant Enfinger, and his No. 23 GMS Racing team, wrapped that award up several races before the finale. He won six races on the season, including Daytona, Mobile, Nashville, Berlin, Springfield and Salem.

When the ARCA Racing Series gathers for its post-season banquet in Indianapolis the weekend of December 12, Hoosier Tire will present $5,000 to the owner whose driver accumulates the most series wins. That would be Maury Gallagher and GMS Racing.

“This season has taught me a lot about how hard work pays off and team work is everything,” said Enfinger. “I am blessed, to say the least, to be part of such a hardworking team and well-rounded organization like GMS Racing. Everyone has worked their tails off and I wouldn’t be standing here receiving this reward without their hard work and determination throughout this 2015 season.”

For more information on the 2015 banquet, click here.

All in all, 13 different drivers won races during the 2015 season. Ten drivers won for the first time in their ARCA careers. Todd Gilliland became the youngest driver to win in series history. Cole Custer became the youngest superspeedway winner in series history (Pocono) and Ken Schrader extended his record as the oldest winner in series history when he won the first Salem race of the season.

Along the way, NASCAR drivers Trevor Bayne and Ryan Reed picked up wins, as did rookies Blake Jones, Kyle Weatherman and Travis Braden. The 2014 ARCA SCOTT Rookie of the Year, Austin Wayne Self, captured his first win at Winchester and veteran ARCA driver A.J. Fike won his first race behind the wheel of an ARCA car. In the only road course race of 2015, SCOTT Rookie of the Year point leader Kyle Weatherman came out victorious.

In addition to Enfinger, Reed was joined by 2014 champion Mason Mitchell with two victories. Mitchell’s two wins came in dramatic fashion – one at his home track in Iowa and the other in the series finale at Kansas when he won passed his teammate for the win with six laps remaining. Ironically, Mitchell won just one race during his 2014 championship run, but twice in his five 2015 races.

DRIVER WINS, 2015: Grant Enfinger (six); Ryan Reed and Mason Mitchell (two); Ken Schrader, Blake Jones, Todd Gilliland, Kyle Weatherman, Trevor Bayne, Ross Kenseth, Austin Wayne Self, Travis Braden, Cole Custer and A.J. Fike (one).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *