AMA AX: Jacob Hayes Snags Overall AMSOIL Arenacross Win in Council Bluffs Opener

RaceChaser Staff Arenacross, Featured, Midwest, Motorcycle Racing 0 Comments

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa — official series release — Arenacross photo —

The eighth round of the 2015 AMSOIL Arenacross, featuring Ricky Carmichael’s Road to Supercross, kicked off the first of two nights inside the Mid-America Center.

After a pair of Arenacross Class Main Events, Team Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki’s Jacob Hayes added to his championship lead by earning his third overall win of the season.

In the third round of the Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class Championship, Slaka Wear KTM’s Steven Mages grabbed his second straight victory.

Team Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki’s Chris Blose grabbed the holeshot in the first Arenacross Class Main Event ahead of Hayes and Husqvarna TiLUBE TUF Racing’s Kyle Regal. Hayes kept the pressure on his teammate throughout the opening laps and was able to pass Blose on the straightaway on lap three.

Once out front, Hayes opened a small gap over the field and in an effort to keep him within striking distance, Regal made a pass on Blose on the ensuing lap right after the finish line. However, Blose responded and took the position back, only to have Regal reclaim second in the whoops.

The top three remained that way for several laps before Regal closed in on Hayes for the lead with two laps to go. As he looked to track down Hayes for the top spot, Regal went down and lost several positions, reentering the race in fifth. That allowed Hayes to take the checkered flag for the win ahead of Blose, Husqvarna TiLUBE TUF Racing’s Gavin Faith, TZR Woodstock KTM’s Travis Sewell and Team Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki’s Matt Goerke rounding out the top five. Regal followed in sixth.

Hayes had the opportunity to select the inversion for the second Main Event, and with the help of the crowd he chose the case with the number eight, meaning half of the 16-rider field would be inverted.

As the second Main Event got underway, Hayes overcame the inversion to grab the holeshot ahead of Faith, and Goerke. The leaders remained the same until Lap 4, when Faith, an Iowa native, made an aggressive move after the whoops. Hayes nearly went down but saved, ultimately costing him another position to Goerke.

While the top three asserted themselves out front, Regal and Racing KTM’s Gared Steinke engaged in a heated battle for fourth in the closing laps. After several attempts, Regal finally made the pass stick for fourth. A few moments later on lap 13, Goerke challenged Faith for the lead in the whoops and took over the top spot, only to crash before the finish and lost valuable positions. That allowed Faith to reclaim the lead, which he carried through to the finish in front of the hometown crowd. Hayes followed in second, with Regal third. Steinke was fourth, Babbitt’s Online Suzuki’s Cory Green was fifth, while Goerke failed to finish the Main Event after his crash, finishing 12th.

Earlier in the evening, Regal took the win over Steinke in the RMATV/MC Head 2 Head Challenge, earning an additional championship bonus point.

Hayes’ 1-2 finishes were enough to give him the overall victory over Faith in second (3-1) and Blose third (2-5). Regal finished fourth overall (6-3), while Sewell rounded out the top five (4-7).

In the Arenacross Class standings, Hayes, who entered the night with a one point lead over Goerke, moved to 14 points over Regal, who took control of second.

The start of the Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class Main Event saw new ThermoTec/FMC Racing Yamaha’s Josh Cartwright grab the holeshot in his first race with the team ahead of Mages and College Hunks Moving Junk/Spinechillers Racing KTM’s Dave Ginolfi. Mages immediately challenged Cartwright for the lead and the pair went side-by-side on lap two, with Mages eventually taking control of the Main Event. Once out front, Mages opened up a comfortable lead while Cartwright and Ginolfi waged battle for the remainder of the race. Mages took the win in dominant fashion, with Cartwright second and Ginolfi third. TZR Woodstock KTM’s Cody VanBuskirk was fourth, with championship leader Daniel Blair rounding out the top five aboard his Racing KTM.

Blair, who entered the night with a five-point lead, now holds a 14-point lead over VanBuskirk, who took over second.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *